Grief is a response that someone has or experience that someone feels towards loss. Grief is particularly felt when someone or something has died. Usually a bond or affection as been formed between the person experiencing grief and loss. Although conventionally focused on the emotional response to loss, it also has physical, cognitive, behavioral, and social facets.

Grieving behaviors also have a wide range. Some people find comfort in sharing their feelings among company. Other people may prefer to be alone with their feelings, engaging in silent activities like exercising or writing. The different feelings, thoughts, and behaviors people express during grief can be categorized into two main styles:

Instrumental grieving has a focus primarily on problem-solving tasks. This style involves controlling or minimizing emotional expression.

Intuitive grieving is based on a heightened emotional experience. This style involves sharing feelings, exploring the lost relationship, and considering mortality.

Psychologists and researchers have outlined various models of grief. Although not much evidence has been found to support this model, it has stuck around in popular culture. The five stages are:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Grief counseling is intended to help the client grieve in a healthy manner, to understand and cope with the emotions they experience, and to ultimately find a way to move on. This can be accomplished through existential therapy, individual therapy, group therapy, and/or family therapy.

We offer a number of different therapies and consulting that can help with you or a loved ones with Grief. Trust that you are in good hands. These are our therapists who treat people going through Grief

Team Members

Read More

Ready To Get Started?

Schedule an appointment

Insurances We Accept

Aetna Health
Agency for Healthcare
Ambetter Healthcare
Beacon Health Options
Carisk Behavioral Health